4 Things to Know About CPR Certification for Groups

by Elizabeth Shaw -


Hospital / freeimages.com

CPR Certification: who needs it, where do you get it, and how long does it last? It can make the difference between keeping your job at the multiple workplaces that require CPR certification, as well as simply giving you the peace of mind in the knowledge that if a loved one or even a stranger.

Who Needs It?

There are certain people who are required to be certified in CPR. This list includes: nurses, doctors, licensed physical therapists, dentists, chiropractors, and other health professionals. Oftentimes, teachers, camp counselors, child care workers, lifeguards, camp counselors and other allied health workers are also required to be certified for CPR. Although average citizens are usually not required to have CPR certification, it is certainly advisable to be prepared in the event that an emergency should occur.

Where Do I Get Certified?

Certification is available through local hospitals and fire departments, and many websites offer online certification. Besides this, some employers offer classes from time to time.

What Does an Average Class Entail?

CPR classes at the community level focus on teaching CPR for adult victims and older-aged children. There are some classes that also include AED training, a how-to when it comes to using  the electronic defibrillation unit on heart attack victims. If you are a babysitter, nanny, or daycare provider, you are encouraged to take infant and child classes as well.

There are also professional-level classes that are designed for health care professionals, ski patrol, police, firefighters and emergency medical technicians. Besides teaching the above skills, the removal of airway obstructions for victims of all ages is also covered. Other skills are also included: inserting tubes to keep the airway open, artificial breathing apparatuses and techniques for performing two-person CPR and using an oxygen tank.

How Long Does the Certification Last?

Certification typically lasts for a two-year period, at which time a simple re-certification is needed.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.